The old barn is a medieval timber framed building, older than the Meeting House. The barn, or hovel, was part of the original farm, and was built about 1580.The Barn is listed and its presence adds a great deal to the historical and spiritual feeling of the Blue Idol.
It was used for little more than storage for years. By 2001 the barn was dilapidated and nearing collapse. Since then much restoration work has been carried out. The floor has been levelled and concreted and a damp-course has been laid. The pillar bases have been re-made and supported on plinths to keep them off the ground. The original slatted windows, and the remains of the wattle and daub wall inside, are protected with glass.
This simple restoration has given the building a light and airy interior. New lighting enables various parts of the building to be seen, particularly the original 400 year old wattle boarding. The restoration of this barn serves as an important link to the religious history of West Sussex.
The 'Hovel' Barn is now used to host the childrens meeting, is open for you to explore on our weekly open days and is available for hire for meetings and exhibitions.